Merry Christmas

I can’t believe Christmas is upon us. Another year almost over, yet feels like it has just begun.

I’ll be spending Christmas eve making gingerbread men with big kids, wrapping presents for extended family, and listening to Christmas carols fill our little home while I make our contribution to the family Christmas lunch. Hubby is off at the crack of dawn to source some seafood for Christmas lunch. My cravings for prawns and oysters went unfulfilled while I was pregnant, and my mouth is watering just thinking about them. Hubby is under strict instructions to buy lots.

For the first time ever, I braved the shops with all four children on my own over the weekend. Hubby and I decided we didn’t need presents this year, but the biggies were desperate to buy presents for this Mamma and their Pappa. I thought I’d need a bex and a nap afterwards, but the biggies knew exactly what they wanted to buy and where they wanted to go. It was pretty pain free. I love that our children get as much joy out of giving presents as they do receiving. They can barely contain their excitement watching people unwrap their gifts.

Our Christmas tree already has loads of presents underneath, sent from relatives on the other side of the country. Just about all of them are for the kids, big ones for the older kids, and presents to celebrate the twins’ first christmas. The meaning of christmas for our family though, is spending time just being with our loved ones. I know if there were no presents under the tree, the biggies would be disappointed, but I also know they’d get over it pretty quickly, and revel in spending the day with their Granny and Grandpa and cousins (twice removed?). Just being with people they love. And so will I.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas from this little blog. I hope your day is filled with joy, and you are surrounded by people you love.

Author: Georgia

30-something wife, and mother of four. Student, coffee drinker, chronic hobbyist, eternal day dreamer.

1 thought on “Merry Christmas”

Leave a Reply

