Back to Blogging?

Despite all my best intentions at the start of 2015, last year was a pretty poor year for blogging for me. I can’t have published more than half a dozen blog posts. I found that after writing essays for what felt like constantly in the first half of the year, and then more assignments whilst on placement in second semester, I just didn’t have the headspace to write anything that wasn’t uni related. Coupled with lack of time between uni, placement and family commitments, even if I had ideas to write about, I just didn’t have the time or motivation to write anything decent.

But 2016 is here, uni is finished, and at the moment, I’m unemployed. While I’m job seeking (which may take a while as our state government has put a freeze on all government/public sector jobs unless you are already employed in the public sector, until the new financial year), I’ve got plenty of time for blogging.

I’ve thought about blogging again since the end of last year, but I guess I’ve been scared to? It’s been so long since I’ve written anything here, and I doubt anyone is reading. But at the end of the day, at this stage, I need to write for myself, not for anyone who may be reading.

I read on a blog the other day (I can’t remember which one though) ‘the more you blog, the better you blog’. I think this goes for writing in general, and that the more you write, the more you write, and the easier you find writing. Hopefully that will happen here. I plan on completing a post-grad degree sometime in the future. I hope, that if I keep writing here, when it comes time to study again, writing assignments will come back easily, and that my writing will improve over that time.

I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. I’m not putting pressure on myself this year though. I’ll just see if the words come, and where they take me.

G. xx

Author: Georgia

30-something wife, and mother of four. Student, coffee drinker, chronic hobbyist, eternal day dreamer.

2 thoughts on “Back to Blogging?”

  1. Gosh, I can’t believe that a nurse could be unemployed! Crazy times!! I’m sure something will come along, but in the meantime I look forward to your writing 🙂 And being jealous if you start sewing again. I recently started full time work and have not touched my craft room since.

    Like

    1. I have applied for so many positions, but there are so many new grad nurses in the same boat as me due to the govt job freeze. And most positions want at least 12 months experience. I’m sure something will turn up, I’ve had one offer of an interview, but waiting to hear back about when.

      Full time work doesn’t leave much time for crafting. I haven’t touched my sewing even though Uni has finished, although I have thought about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

